Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


Today I was determined to get some, albeit very late, spring cleaning done.  I always get into a tizzy before school starts and have to muck through a years worth of stuff.  The binders really do pile up!

I was going through my English III binder from first semester last year and happened upon an old mini-project.  We had read The Great Gatsby for American Lit and I thought I might post my poem from it.  I’m used to writing free verse, this is one of the few that uses rhymes.  Hope you enjoy!  Please let me know what you think.  Just a warning, it’s satirical.

The Banshee’s Song

Two by two and four by four,

People darkened Gatsby’s door.

Traipsing, near and far they came to flock,

To lure sweet Daisy from her dock.

They held no interest in Gatsby’s affairs,

Cared nothing for his heart,

All whispered behind held up hands,

Just there to play the part…

Of a happy contented lot.

They cared nothing for Gatsby or his plight,

Even after the day he was shot.

*”Why, my God!  They used to go there by the thousands!”

*Quote by F. Scott Fitzgerald, said by the Owl Eyed Man.